Australia-Japan Society of Tasmania Inc.


About the Australia-Japan Society of Tasmania Inc.

The Australia-Japan Society of Tasmania Inc. (the Society) began its Tasmanian activities in the northern city of Launceston in 1968. It was formally constituted under that name in the following year. It quickly attracted interest from people in other parts of the state and considerable support developed in the south, centered on Hobart. A Hobart-based branch was formed in the latter half of 1970. In April 1987, by mutual agreement, this branch was reconstituted in its present form as the Australia-Japan Society (Tasmania) Inc.

The Society is a nonpolitical, nonprofit organisation that assists Australians (and in particular, Tasmanians) and Japanese in understanding each other’s culture.

The Society is involved in the organisation of numerous activities in various educational, cultural, social and commercial contexts. It is an incorporated body with an active committee of ten, elected at the Annual General Meeting held in April or May of every year.

The Society is an incorporated association, as identified under the Associations Incorporation Act 1964 (Tas), and is governed by its Constitution.


President Dr Steven Phipps
Vice President Mrs Yukiko Burns
Secretary Mr Troy Crystal
Treasurer Ms Kira White
Members Dr Katsuhiko Suganuma
Ms Tricia de Jersey
Ms Frances Hanley
Ms Melanie Tyson
Mr Ben Ivory
Ms Mayumi Toya
Observer Mr Tim Short (City of Hobart)
Patron Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner AM, Governor of Tasmania
Vice Patron Honorary Consul-General Ms Kim S. Clifford

Copyright Australia-Japan Society of Tasmania Inc.| PO Box 136, Sandy Bay, Tasmania 7006, Australia | ABN 14 559 509 154

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software